LHC directs prosecutor to furnish list of witnesses


LAHORE: The Lahore High Court on Friday directed a law officer/prosecutor to furnish the list of the witnesses in anti-judiciary rally case and allowed time to two parliamentarians of PML-N and four others to submit their unconditional apology in writing by May 22.

The contemnors including MNA Waseem Akhtar and MPA Naeem Safdar, municipal chairman Ayaz Khan, vice-chairman Ahmad Latif, Nasir Khan and Jamil Khan were indicted on contempt of court charges on last hearing.

The court summoned Member Inspection Team (MIT) of the high court and asked him to convey to the concerned anti-terrorism court that the contempt proceedings pending before the bench had no connection with the FIR of the case.

The court observed that the trial court was free to proceed on the suspects’ bail petitions in accordance with law.

Earlier, all the six contemnors appeared before the court and reiterated that they made a mistake. They said, “We admit our mistake and throw ourselves at the mercy of the court.” They reiterated that they had complete regard for the courts.

The contemnors complained that the trial court was not entertaining their bail petitions in the case lodged against them on terrorism charges.

President District Bar Association Kasur Mirza Naseem and others had filed the petitions pleading that the protest rally was a planned conspiracy against the judiciary.

The petitioners said the act of the respondent parliamentarians amounted to commit contempt of court. They asked the court to disqualify the respondents.