ISLAMABAD: The unofficial results of 259 constituencies out of 270 of the National Assembly showed that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has won 114 seats followed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) with 62 and 42 seats respectively.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan has made history by winning from all five constituencies in the general election as he becomes the first politician to clinch this number. In 1970 election, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto had contested from four National Assembly seats and could win three of them.

The ECP postponed elections on two National Assembly seats, NA-60 and NA-103, due to conviction of a candidate from court and suicide of one of the candidates respectively.

The PTI will now need support of independents and other parties to form a coalition government in the center.

The unofficial results show that independents and Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal each have won 11 NA seats, Pakistan Muslim League (PML), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan and Balochistan National Party each won four seats, and Balochistan Awami Party won 2 seats.

The Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) that was contesting against the PPP candidates in interior Sindh could bag only two seats. Awami National Party and Awami Muslim League have so far won one seat each of Lower House of the Parliament.

Punjab Assembly has a total of 297 general seats and results of 294 of them have been received so far to the ECP. The PML-N has so far won 130 seats of the provincial assembly followed by PTI with 120 seats, PPP with 6, independents, 29, PML, 7, MMA and Awami Raj Party each won one seat.

It appears that independents and PML will play a crucial role in forming the government in Punjab province.

In Sindh, out of 130 seats, the results of 120 seats have been received. These results show that PPP won 77 seats followed by PTI with 20 seats, GDA with 10, MQM-P, 9, and two seats each are won by MMA and Tehreek Labbaik Pakistan. The PPP is comfortable to form its government in the province.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, results of 96 seats out of 99 have been received. These results show the PTI has secured two-third majority in the province by clinching 66 seats followed by MMA with 10 seats, ANP, 6, five seats each by PML-N and independents, and four seats were won by PPP.

Balochistan Assembly has a total of 51 seats and results of 43 seats have been received. BAP has won 11 seats followed by MMA, 9, independents, 5, BNP, 6, PTI, 4, ANP, 3, and one each by PkMAP, Jamhoori Watan Party and BNP-Awami.

Earlier, speaking to media persons, ECP Secretary Babar Yaqoob admitted that Result Transmission System (RTS) could not perform in a manner it was expected to perform, adding that measures will be taken for its improvement.

He said that polling agents at every polling station were given copies of Form 45. “If someone has any complaint in this regard, we will investigate it,” he added.

The secretary said that there were also complaints about the slowness of the 8300 information service which is powered by the ECP.